Namibian Vehicle Registration Plates

For many guest’s first time visiting Namibia the array of Vehicle Registration Plates could be somewhat confusing. Herewith our simple insight on how to understand each Vehicle plate. The first letter is always “N” for Namibia. The last one or two letters indicate the town or region the car originates from. In between, numbers are issued sequentially within each region, starting with single-digit numbers, and increasing in length as required. The vast majority of vehicles are registered in the capital, Windhoek, and require six digits; most other regions are currently using 3 or 4 digits. Shown below is a Registration Plate with two letters “N” and “W” which simply stands for “N – Namibia” and “W – Windhoek”. Selected locations carry their own letter, as listed further down below.




Since 2007, personalised number plates are available at an extra fee. Such plates may carry up to seven alphanumerical characters, followed by the Namibian Flag and the letters NA. They also differ in colour and material, the personalised plates are made from acrylic white plastic and have light blue characters. The design change is not only the colour of the Plate but also the removal of the second identificational letter(s) from each Namibian location.




     + The following list shows the location of each individual Vehicle registration which is still present on all yellow Namibian Registration Plates:

AR – Aranos, B – Bethanie, EN – Eenhana, G – Grootfontein, GO – Gobabis, K – Keetmanshoop, KA – Karasburg, KH – Khorixas, KM – Katima Mulilo, KR – Karibib, L – Lüderitz, M – Mariental, MA – Maltahoehe, ND – Ondangwa, OH – Okahandja, OJ – Outjio, OK – Okakarara, OM – Omaruru, ON – Otjinene, OP – Opuwo, OR – Oranjemund, OT – Otjiwarongo, OV – Otavi, R – Rehoboth, RC – Ruacana, RU – Rundu, S – Swakopmund, SH – Oshakati, T – Tsumeb, U – Usakos, UP – Outapi, W – Windhoek, WB – Walvis Bay

Government vehicles use dark green license plates with white imprints. As with ordinary number plates, numbers are issued sequentially within each region, starting with single-digit numbers, and increasing in length as required. The Government vehicle plates are prefixed with the following letters:

• GRN – Government vehicles




• NCS – Namibian Correctional Services

• NDF – Namibia Defence Force




• POL – Police




     + Other past and present Vehicle Plates:

• UNTAG (The United Nations Transition Assistance Group). Generally, a Registration Plate on military Vehicles from UNTAG when stationed in Namibia from 16 February 1989 till March 1990.




• Diplomat




• Pre-Independence Vehicle Registrations (Prior to independence in 1989 the then South West Africa’s number plates started with an “S” and followed the South African layout. e.g. Windhoek was: SW 123-456, Swakopmund SS 2121, etc)




     + Below an image collection from Worldlicenceplates.com:









Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.